Baby Must Haves – my top 5.

I’m officially 10 weeks (prob way more by the time I publish this) into motherhood aka qualified to write this post haha! You know I always hated it when mothers would tell me their baby’s age in weeks and now I’ve started doing it so I would like to take this time to apologise for being a hater.
Changing mat: this is sooooooo important if you don’t want to be sleeping on your baby’s wees and poos and in some cases like mine – vomit too because as soon as I would lay her down to change her nappy out it comes. I never realised how much I would need this so once again this is soooooooooooo important as you really don’t want to be getting up in the middle of the night to change your sheets (or if you’re lazy like me, wipe whatever with a baby wipe and just sleep on it SO SO EW I KNOW) just keep a lightweight changing mat next to your bed so you can pop it out as soon as you need and also carry it around the house.
This is the one I have and it is absolutely perfect, Mothercare,Β Β£6:Β http://www.mothercare.com/reusable-change-mats/mothercare-changing-ma/LF0303.html?dwvar_LF0303_color=Pink#start=5
Gro bag: it’s basically a sleeping bag but the material is so perfect, she doesn’t wake up now because she’s too hot or too cold only when she’s hungry. I get cold a lot so I would get worried and wrap her up too warm so if your like me get a gro bag for sure.
Sleep positioners: I didn’t know what these were called so when I googled them “cosy side support cushions for babies” and there were some warnings so read before buying! This is another sleeping must have for me, I would lay my baby tightly between these positioners and I guess she would feel all protected and secure like there was someone around her and she wouldn’t wake up startled.
Bath seat: This is really nice for enjoying bath time with your baby and also it makes cleaning your babyΒ really easy as both your hands are free. I have recently started showering her while she is on the seat, using one hand to hold the shower head and one hand to clean her, she seems to enjoys this a lot more than me filling up the bath which is nice for me as it saves time. WIN!
Β 
Wrap: I’ve started to take daily walks with my baby and before I was using the baby carrier which is quite heavy itself and then putting the baby in it would make it so much more heavier (obvz) so i would get tired and turn back quicker than I would like. Also my baby would fall asleep on the way back and the baby carrier has so many buckles and velcro straps that by the time I would take her out she would be awake. So for me a wrap is just way more comfortable as it is light and I can easily release her from the fabric without any noise and place her in her swing once she’s asleep.
Extra tips
  • Officially dedicate the draws on the side of your bed to your baby if you haven’t done so already – her nappies, creams, oils, bodysuits and sleep suits should all be there. YOU WILL THANK ME FOR THIS!
  • When you’re at home ditch the baby wipes and use cotton pads and water to clean your baby’s nappy because nappy rashes are just horrid and it makes your baby very uncomfortable.
  • Β Talk to your baby, I’ve just started doing this as I always thought it was super weird when other people did it , honestly I’m such a hater haha. Talking to your baby is surprisingly comforting – esp when they respond in their cute little coos – and mothers need comfort!!! also its meant to be really good for them too.
  • Finally stay calm, keep trying and remember all babies are different! (all the things I need to be constantly reminded of)

p.s / p.s / p.s if you haven’t had your baby yet or if your baby is under 21 days don’t forget to book a baby photoshoot, I’m still upset that i forgot to do so :((((((

 

Leave a Reply

